The Midwest Travel Award and Joan Duffy Award

Two awards totaling $400 are available to students who are members of OCAFS and are presenting at the upcoming Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference in Cleveland, OH!

OCAFS is sponsoring the Midwest Travel Award for $200 to a student member of OCAFS that is presenting at the upcoming Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference. (Note to students and those who work with students- student membership to OCAFS is free!  Just email Jo Ann Banda at [email protected] and let her know you’d like to be a member.)

The winner of this award will also be Ohio’s recipient of the North Central Division's Joan Duffy Award, which provides an additional $200 match, for a total of $400. You can read more on the Joan Duffy award at .

To be considered for these awards, you must:

  1. Be a student member of OCAFS
  2. Have an accepted abstract to the Midwest Fish and Wildlife Conference
  3. Submit your accepted abstract to OCAFS Leadership Committee Chair Nick Radabaugh at [email protected] by December 22, 2018!

The winner will be determined and notified by January 4, 2019.

OSU Stone Laboratory Fish-Sampling Techniques Workshop
OCAFS annually awards two full scholarships to attend this workshop. Interested students need to submit a 1-page statement summarizing interest in the workshop, academic and professional accomplishments to date, any financial needs, and/or how you believe the workshop may enhance your path towards a professional career in fisheries or natural resource management.  More detailed information about the workshop can be found here.

Milt Austin Award
2017 was the 20th year that OCAFS has offered the Milt Austin Aquatic Science Award at the Ohio State Science Fair, which is held annually at The Ohio State University.  For more information, visit the 2017 State Science Day website here.